Yarn Braids

The beginning…my friend Denise offered not only to teach me how to do yarn braids on Sedaya, but to do them with me.  Sedaya was so excited and counted down the days until the big day when she and I would head over to Denise’s and do her hair.  Here are the first two braids.

Many, many hours later…we were starting to see progress and had figured out a bit of a system that worked.  Thankfully, Sedaya was fabulous and SAT the whole time (she never sits at home – she normally won’t even sit to watch TV or a movie!) and she didn’t complain which made the day so much easier.  Denise and I got to visit a lot and laugh (especially at the end when delirium had kicked in from exhaustion)!

Sedaya decided she wanted to go to sleep, so we lay her on the couch and kept braiding…at that point, we’d invested so much time and effort, we weren’t about to give up!

A very tired princess!  (it was much easier for us to braid once she was sleeping though!)

FINISHED AT LAST!

*** that is a grand total of 85 yarn braids!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I hope they last a really long time 🙂 A really, REALLY long time! lol

    I’m so glad she likes them!!

    Reply

  2. They look great and she looks beautiful! I wish I had a friend like Denise who would come over and show me how to do yarn braids! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Laura on April 27, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Wow! What a lot of work! And her hair looks fabulous!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michelle Englefield on June 7, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Is that all her real hair? how long is it going to take to get them out?! I think I should have looked at her hair more closely yesterday.

    Reply

    • Her hair is almost as long as the braids, but they are yarn braids actually so the yarn is about an inch longer than her actual hair. They have lasted a long time, but I dread having to take them out because I’m sure it will take hours and hours and hours and hours!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

