Titanic Party

Josiah is obsessed with Titanic (obsession takes on a whole new meaning when you have a child with Asperger’s!).  I have long learned that it is best to just go with his current obsession of choice rather than fight it.  April 14 is the anniversary of the day the Titanic sank and he wrote it on the calendar and wanted to know how we were going to commemorate that day.  I told him that we would do something, but as it got closer, I realized that that day I had a hair appointment and that night was Mark and my date night, so I sat Josiah down and let him know that we would have to do something on Friday instead.  In a very serious voice, he told me that Friday would work because the 15th is the anniversary of the day that Titanic first touched down on the ocean floor!!!

On the night the Titanic sank, they were serving a 7 course dinner in the first class dining room, so I decided to do the same.  It may have been a bit on the ambitious side as I forgot to calculate that a 7 course plate service meal for 11 people would mean 77 dishes, so we were mixing and matching plastic plates with our fancy ones!

Here is the menu I made and cooked up for the evening:

Mark made a playlist that included string quartet music (including the some the orchestra was playing while the ship sank) and songs from the Titanic movie, which we listened to during dinner and danced to.  I taught the kids which fork to use for which course and they sipped ginger ale out of wine glasses and loved that their napkins were folded into fans!  It was a very fun night!!!

(sorry Mandi about the eyes closed thing, but this is the only dinner picture I have of the “grown-ups table”!)

14 responses to this post.

  1. Josiah’s response to having to switch the dinner party to the 15th is priceless!! I love that you did this for him; he must have been thrilled! The menu looks lovely (and ambitious!), and I know you must have spent quite some time in the kitchen afterwards, with all of those dishes. 🙂

    Sometimes the obsessions are overwhelming, but it can be much more fun to go with them than to try to fight them (which is what I learned when we were on a Texas theme here and I made life-sized cactus pictures and graced our family room walls with them!). Life is never boring, that’s for sure!

    Reply

  2. I don’t know why that last email came up with my business blog, but this is the correct website address. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I absolutely love the way you got creative and encouraged Josiah’s interest. So inspiring. Sounds like a yummy dinner too!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michelle Drost on April 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Can you adopt me??

    Reply

  5. Posted by Michelle Drost on April 18, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    sounds so GREAT!!!!!!!!!! you are an inspiring mom 🙂 thanks!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Keltie on April 18, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    You are inspiring me. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Unbelievable, Sharla! What a lucky boy Josiah is – how thoughtful are you!

    Ruth

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mary on April 18, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Wow! What an awesome party!

    Reply

  9. I would have dressed up for that!!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Claire on April 18, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Sharla!

    I did not know you had an Aspie son….me too. Our current obsessions are Mario and Sonic. I rue the day I decided to buy them a wii for Christmas…I did this to myself, I keep saying!
    Anyway, I love the whole theme, and that dinner looks amazing. Could you email me? I have a question for you! clairee_wee@hotmail.com

    Thx!
    Claire

    Reply

  11. Posted by gablynn on April 18, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    looks like fun!!!!!
    Debbie

    Reply

  12. you are amazing!! what a fantastic party..lucky kids! mine are lucky if they get sprinkle cupcakes..i am VERY creatively challenged..:) so…we are moving, yes, I THINK close to you. how FUN! 🙂 i will FB you and let you know. 🙂 darci

    Reply

  13. Posted by marcy on April 19, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    That looks fantastic! I dare say I would not go to those lengths to humor my son’s obsessions…except I probably have. Not in the same way, but you are right, it is easier to encourage them than to fight it. AND I think it’s also better for them too.

    Reply

  14. What a fun night you had. 77 dishes. Yikes! The menu looks delicious and your Unsinkable Cake name was really cute.

    Who did all the serving?

    Elisabeth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

