Website, Book, Busy

I am still alive; I promise!  Between the Adoption Magazine website which has taken me way more time than I originally anticipated and editing my book and preparing to write the Epilogue, I have been more busy than usual, but I do have a post brewing.  I am just trying to figure out how to word it.

Other than being a much bigger time commitment than I realized it would be, the website has been going really well.  It’s obvious that Canada is really lacking in adoption resources and information because I have been getting some wonderfully encouraging e-mails from across the country thanking me for starting it.  There is still much work to be done on it, but it is a work in progress and for now, I have to be okay with that.  I also have had my first few bumps along the way, but thanks to Mark and my friend Denise for being my sounding boards, nothing turned into a major issue.

The book… well, ten months ago, I began writing a book of our experience with our last adoption.  I was able to finish it in a few months except for the Epilogue and I had to wait to do that because I wanted to wait until the kids had been with us a bit longer so that I could say “it was really difficult in the beginning, but now, they have adjusted really well” or that kind of thing.  I also needed to wait until Mark returned from his trip back to Ethiopia so I set it aside.  If the book were on my desk instead of in my computer, a very thick layer of dust would have gathered on it by now as I have not even glanced at it since about September!

In the meantime, I began writing articles online.  What I found happened is that, inevitably, with practise, my writing got better (though you’d never guess it from this thrown together post!) and so now that I have figuratively dusted off the book and prepared to write the Epilogue, I have had to start at the beginning and tweak a few things.  In this re-writing, I have only gotten to page 53 of my 187 pages and have yet to begin the Epilogue, so I will be not be done at the end of the month as I had planned.

But when you can only write one day a week (I have a babysitter on Mondays), slow going is inevitable!

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gablynn on March 26, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Wow, Sharla:
    I did not know that you are writing a book too. That`s awesome, when do you find the time. Congrats. I would love to buy a copy of your book, when it`s ready.
    Debbie.

    Reply

  2. Ack! I feel your pain. I’m already wondering what questions our girls will ask. Why do there always have to be racial lines drawn. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, Sharla. I always look forward to reading what you have to say.

    Blessings!
    Deborah

    Reply

  3. Oops! I realized my previous comment is in the wrong spot. Congratulations on writing a book. I’ve been mulling writing one too. I may have lots of questions for you down the road :o).

    Blessings!
    Deborah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

