Theme Song for 2011

Every year, I chose a theme song for myself for the year.  I know this is incredibly geeky of me, but when it comes to music, I am a lyrics person and am very moved by the lyrics of certain songs.  I find that having these songs each year remind me of my goal(s) for the year and give me something to aspire to.  They are not usually chosen based on what I am currently doing doing or feeling, but what I would like to be doing or feeling.  As an example, one year when I was working through some grief and wanting to be moving closer to God, I chose the song “Only Hope”.  Last year, my song happened midway through the year and was “Walk on the Water” and it did help to push me out of my comfort zone as I began to write a book, something I had wanted to do for many years, but had made excuses to put off.  This year, the song I chose came to mind partially because of what I wrote about a few weeks ago with wanting not to care about what others say about what I know that God has called me to do in caring for orphans.  The song is a good reminder that though we may feel powerless to change the world, we still control our own choices and that saving “just” one matters to that one.  It is also a concept that can be expanded to things other than adoption and orphan care such as just being a good neighbour, greeting people you pass by, being an optimist, bringing a meal to someone who could use the help, parenting the children you have in a way that makes you proud, being accountable, being the kind of friend, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, etc. that God calls you to be, changing the world one smile, one hug, one kind word at a time.

The lyrics that stand out for me about this song are “they say what good have you done by saving just this one…it’s like whispering a prayer in the fury of a storm”.

So, for 2011, my song is going to be “The Change” by Garth Brooks.  Below are the lyrics:

One hand
Reaches out
And pulls a lost soul from harm
While a thousand more go unspoken for
They say what good have you done
By saving just this one
It’s like whispering a prayer
In the fury of a storm

And I hear them saying you’ll never change things
And no matter what you do it’s still the same thing
But it’s not the world that I am changing
I do this so this world will know
That it will not change me

This heart
Still believes
The love and mercy still exist
While all the hatred rage and so many say
That love is all but pointless in madness such as this
It’s like trying to stop a fire
With the moisture from a kiss

And I hear them saying you’ll never change things
And no matter what you do it’s still the same thing
But it’s not the world that I am changing
I do this so this world will know
That it will not change me

As long as one heart still holds on
Then hope is never really gone

I hear them saying you’ll never change things
And no matter what you do it’s still the same thing
But it’s not the world that I am changing
I do this so this world we know
Never changes me

What I do is so
This world will know
That it will not change me

The video for this song was done to commemorate the survivors and rescuers of the Oklahoma City Bombing, but its lyrics can be applied to everyday life as well.  For me, it is an emotional call to let my worries about what others think of me go and just be the me that God is calling me to be.  So for this year, my goal is that this world will not change me.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Sharla, you have such a gift for writing. I am always inspired and encouraged when I pop by for a read. Mackenzie did an EXCELLENT job on decorating Gracelyn’s horse cake. Looks like it was a fun day and so good to see her smiles.

    Happy New year to you and your beautiful family!

    Blessings!
    Deborah

    Reply

  2. What great lyrics!And a great focus of the new year. I’ll have to look that song up. Happy New Year, Sharla!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

