A Mickey Mouse Birthday Party

For his birthday party, our son Elijah chose a Mickey Mouse theme.  The cake was a big hit!

For the cupcakes, I made a spice cake, iced with buttercream, and then cut three circles out of fondant to make a Mickey head on the top of most of them.  I don’t usually make a cake AND cupcakes for the kids’ parties, this party was extra special as it was Elijah’s first real birthday party ever.

I made Mickey Mouse shaped Rice Krispie treats on lollipop sticks and displayed them by hiding a Kleenex box inside a gift bag and poking the sticks in holes in the bag and box.  I handed them out to the kids as they were leaving.

The birthday boy loved the celebration just for him.  We had fourteen kids here, plus our seven, and seventeen adults.  For food, we served Mickey shaped hamburgers with the fixings, a layered dip, potato salad, Asian salad, devilled eggs, crackers, cheese, pickles, pickled asparagus, and cheese dips.  It was a beautiful day, so the kids played outside most of the time and I didn’t need to organize many activities.  We played Mickey-Mickey-Minnie (like duck-duck-goose) and I had Mickey party colouring sheets for the kids with markers set out.  It was an easy theme to work with as far as colours and decor go.  Most importantly, Elijah absolutely loved all of it!!!

9 responses to this post.

  1. That expression on his face with the cake is worth a thousand words! Good job, mama!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Deanne on October 14, 2010 at 7:59 am

    His smile says it all! Sounds like it was a great party!

    Reply

  3. Sharla,
    I saw your comment on our blog. I am going to add your blog to ours if that is okay. now that I am in residency, I am not as good at keeping up our blog but I am trying… I love the Mickey stuff. We are doing cars for my son’s bday. I am not as crafty as you though!
    I look forward to following your blog.
    natalie

    Reply

  4. Posted by sandra on October 14, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    another amazing birthday mom… wow!

    Reply

  5. Wow! You did a great job and he looks delighted! How old is he now?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Michelle Q on October 14, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    You are an amazing Mum!!! What a beautiful party – Elijah looks so happy!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Aneta on October 14, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    His expression says it all. Wish I could have been there! Give a hug to him for me ,would you?

    Reply

  8. What a great job! You absolutely made it so memorable for him…well done!!

    Reply

  9. How awesome is that! I love the big smile on his sweet face! Happy Birthday, Elijah!

    Blessings!
    Deborah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

