Orphans, Adoption, and what you can do

An article I wrote on the worldwide orphan crisis and what individuals can do to help got published in a REAL magazine!  I am so excited, as it is the first time that I have been able to see my words in print.  You can read an on-line version of the article here.  My sincere hope for the article is that people will read it, pass it along, and that it will spur some individuals on to start today to do one small thing that will make a difference in the life of a child.

I am passionate about the cause of orphans and have decided that one of the ways that I will use this blog is to feature a different family’s adoption fundraiser once a month.  There are some very original and cool fundraising ideas out there and it will be my privilege to help these families in their efforts to give orphans a home.  International adoption is expensive and there are some amazing families who feel called to give an orphan a home, but the financial burden stands in their way.  I hope that by showcasing these families and their fundraisers, this blog can play a small part in bringing children to their forever families.  If you are a family adopting and have an ongoing fundraiser, please e-mail me at oursevenblessings(at)gmail(dot)com and share your story and fundraising details.

The family I am featuring first is Brandon, April, and Harrison of www.livingtolove.com.  Brandon and April adopted Harrison from Taiwan in 2009 and now are in the process of adopting siblings from Ethiopia.  They are selling awesome t-shirts in several colour combinations for both adults and children.  I ordered a purple and green one for myself and I ordered blue ones for my eight year olds.  The front of the shirt features the continent of Africa as a replacement for the letter “O” in “LOVE” with a scripture quote inside (I John 3:18).  The back of the shirt (my favourite part and reason for ordering) features one of my favourite quote:  “Sometimes I would like to ask God why He allows poverty, famine, and injustice in the world when He could do something about it, but I’m afraid He might ask me the same question.”

I love these shirts because they look great, spread a wonderful message when you wear them, and by ordering them, you are able to contribute towards siblings from Ethiopia finding a loving and permanent family.  T-shirts don’t get much cooler than that!!!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle Volkman on October 4, 2010 at 10:27 am

    This is awesome Sharla, great job!!!

    Reply

  2. Way to go, Sharla!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Congratulations! Well done! What magazine was it?

    Reply

  4. It was a teeny tiny, but great magazine called “Earthen Vessels”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

