A Culinary Celebration of Fall

Fall is here, my favourite season, and with it comes all the delicious food associated with this time.  This week, I tried to incorporate as much of the season as I could into my cooking, using the last of the vegetables from my garden and taking advantage of all the free apples I had been given.

This apple, zucchini, asparagus and feta pizza was absolutely delicious!  Even some of the kids liked it.

Our neighbours have apple trees and weren’t going to be using the fruit so they told our kids that they could pick as many as they wanted.  Thankfully, my kids love to apple pick, so between that and the apples given to me by my friend Glenda and my aunt, I had plenty.  Other than this pizza, I also made applesauce, apple filling, 4 Amish Friendship loaves with apple, and apple crisp.  I didn’t want to do any canning, so I just filled sandwich bags with applesauce, then put four sandwich bags into a large freezer bag and froze them.  I did applesauce this way last year too and loved how it worked out.  The smaller bags are a great size for pulling one or two out at a time for snacks or to add into a muffin recipe.  All the free apples sure saved us a lot of money too!

This super easy crock pot tortellini soup is such a great make-ahead.  Perfect for lunch on a homeschool day or with a hearty bread for a comfort meal supper.

It’s not the best picture, but these pouches of roasted root vegetables are one of my favourite things about fall.  Garden zucchini and carrots, rutabaga, turnips, parsnips, yams, and purple onions with a tiny bit of butter and some seasoning…yum!

The rosemary roasted potatoes were actually a bit dry but still tasty enough.  The fish (basa) with sun dried tomato pesto sauce was a huge hit with two of our kids, but the rest of us didn’t care for it much.  I usually make this fish with salsa but wanted to try something different.

I made a delectable late night appetizer of mango salsa on brie to spread onto French bread slices…it was eaten too quickly for photos!  I also made muffins using a recipe my niece Amy gave me.  I have been enjoying Lemon Raspberry Cheesecake Muffins every morning since!  This weekend, I am planning to continue to enjoy the tastes of autumn by making my sweet potato casserole and making a batch of pumpkin muffins and pumpkin cookies to freeze.  What are your favourite fall recipes?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Deanne on September 24, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Hmmm, those all look so tasty! I think I need to move next door to you! 🙂 you’re way ahead of me – I haven’t even started my applesauce and pies….

    Reply

  2. Now I’m hungry!! One of my fave fall recipes is my Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip. Plus Drip Beef (from the Pioneer Woman). Plus Tortellini Casserole. OK, now I have to go have dinner for breakfast. Thanks!! 😉

    Reply

  3. Your food looks scrumptious. May I ask where you got the recipe for the pizza? I would love to try it.

    Reply

  4. Sure looks delicious and appealing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

