Why “Pockets of Change”?

Those who have followed my private blog for the past five years may be wondering about the reason behind this new blog and its unusual name.  The easy answer about why I have started this blog is that I wanted a blog that could be more public.  The name “pockets of change” refers to three types of change.  There is actual pocket change of course.  To this end, I will try to share the tips I have found for saving money.  With such a large family, finding ways to stretch a dollar is always handy.  I will also be trying new budgeting ideas and sharing how they work for us.

The second meaning of the pockets of change idea is that there are changes that I am trying to make and keep myself accountable about.  I know that if I am writing publicly about these attempted changes, it will increase my chances of success.  Some of these changes include cooking healthier and more creative meals for my family, being more structured and scheduled in my homeschooling, living on a set budget, creating time to spend with Mark and each of the kids individually, making fun family theme nights, pursuing my writing, finding time to scrapbook, nurturing friendships, and being open to the life God has planned for me.

The third meaning of pockets of change is looking for opportunities that I can, as an individual, create positive change in the world.  What can I do to help the orphans in the world?  How can I support hurting people in my own community?  How can I promote awareness about the blessing of adoption?  How can I raise money for projects in Africa that I am passionate about?  If all of us are looking for little pockets of opportunities where we can make a difference, together, we can!

So there you have it…a new blog is born!  My plan is to have Fridays be Food Fridays where I share great recipes or warn about not-so-great culinary attempts.  I am also going to participate in Weekly Wrap-Up where on Saturdays, I will do a recap of our homschooling week.  I will also share my successful and less than successful ideas to incorporate more fun into our life while cutting expenses.  So welcome to the new blog!  Have a look around and please be sure to leave a comment as going into a more public format makes me a bit nervous and I’m not used to the silence!

P.S.  my sister-in-law C. actually came up with the name after the three million or so that I thought of were already taken!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by almost shale on September 8, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I am planning on going back to teaching, possibly in inner-city schools, for my version of positive change. Good luck with your changes, and your new blog!

    Reply

  2. Sounds like you’re on the right track!

    Frugality lives!

    🙂

    Reply

  3. I think one of the hardest things about a new site is the name. (Hence mine – lol) I think you did good!

    Reply

  4. Posted by beth on September 9, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Hi,

    you asked me about reviewing products on my blog. I signed up with MomSelect. It’s a great program and they send you products to try out and post reviews about them. If you want me to send you more info, just send me an email and I will be glad to get it to you.

    My email is coleminer77 at gmail dot com

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Deanne on September 9, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Love the name! Sorry, I just couldn’t think of anything interesting enough to suggest – my brain is currently a bit fried from too much work stuff but looks like C helped you pick a winner!

    Reply

  6. What a fun blog theme, very clever! Thanks for commenting on my blog; I’m glad to have found yours.

    Reply

  7. that’s a PERFECT name for your blog. Love the look. I’ll be a ‘regular’!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

