Not So Stellar Parenting Moment

Well, sometimes parenting kids whose brains work a little bit differently can be hmmm…. interesting!  Interesting seems like the appropriate word here.  At the time this happened, “interesting” was not the first word that came to mind, but I’ve had time to get over it!

A few weeks ago, Josiah decided that it would be a good idea to SHAVE … (bad enough right there, right?)… HIS EYEBROWS … (yep!) … COMPLETELY OFF…

He looked like a character out of a sci-fi movie and it was so weird to look at but I finally decided that it was the contrast of the dark hair on his head with the lack of hair over his eyes that was making it worse, so I decided that his hair would have to go.  My mom shaved his head a few days later and immediately, it made such a huge difference.  He looked almost normal again and now the hair on his head is starting to grow back and his eyebrows are even showing signs of growth (though Josiah had researched it and informed us that eyebrows take 6 months to grow in!).

As promised, here are the pictures:

It’s pretty creepy, right?  I have to say that the night he shaved his eyebrows off, I was less than gracious about it initially…something I am not super proud of, but as he will tell you now, he knows that his mommy loves him with or without eyebrows!

Here is the current picture with the shaved head growing back and the eyebrows starting to peak through:

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Deanne on June 7, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Awww, he’s cute with or without eyebrows. What a story – you guys are going to have fun recalling all these times when the kids are all married with kids of their own. I can just hear it now!

    Reply

  2. Dave says it looks pretty good! Funny Josiah! Good thing hair grows back!

    Reply

  3. remember when i didn’t recognize him? lol

    Reply

    • Yep…he looks so different without eyebrows…they are one of those things that we don’t think much about until they are gone!!!

      Reply

  4. Posted by gablynn on June 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Oh my, some of the things children do. What would possess him to shave off his eyebrows!! Although I gotta say he can pull it off and still look good.

    Reply

  5. My brother’s best friend did that when we were kids and my brother didn’t even recognize him! So (smart and clever me) I decided I wanted to run away when I was about 13 and shaved my eyebrows off so my parents wouldn’t be able to find me. lol needless to say, they found me and I had to endure being a teenage girl who had no eyebrows……for about 4 months :( Dumb idea lol

    Reply

    • The only thing worse than a boy without eyebrows is a girl without eyebrows!!! Your story made me laugh! You sure got a natural consequence for your attempt to run away!

      Reply

  6. Posted by carol froese on June 8, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Sharla, I laughed so hard but really he doesn’t look so bad. He’s a very attractive boy with or without hair! I love your stories and your family. I feel very sad for little Gracie and and for the rest of you who have to have a limited summer! It’s so short anyway and not to be outside enjoying it is really difficult. God bless you!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Justine on June 8, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Hilarious!!! Only Josiah! I was sharing about the email love messages to Cassidy just now. What a funny memory. :o)

    Reply

  8. Yikes!!!! Well, I burnt one of mine off as a teenager, but it was a flaming sambuca that did it. :-)

    Reply

  9. Eyebrows shmybrows…who needs ‘em anyway…really.

    He’s adorable with short hair, eyebrows or not.

    Ruth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

