It’s Been Quiet Around Here…

no, not around my house (!), around this blog.  Sorry for the silence.  I have much to write about, but am in the throws (that isn’t the spelling of the type of “throws” I mean, but I’m too lazy to look it up right now) of things around here, so there is little time to write.  I am sure that I will forget much of what I wanted to say by the time I have time to say it.

I have started attachment therapy with Sedaya.  I know that she has been home for over a year and a half, but I couldn’t do it at the same time as Elijah’s, which only finished around Christmas and then I didn’t want to start it when I knew it would be interrupted by things I couldn’t control or change, so I waited.  I also didn’t realize that she needed it until earlier this year.

So, we are in the thick of it now and it is working.  For those of you who have done attachment therapy before, you know that when I say it is working, I mean that I am living in H-E-L-L right now!!!   I kind of knew going in that giving Sedaya’s personality, chances were that this would be fast and furious, and the furious part is accurate…we’ll have to see about the fast.  I’d love to be done in a month or two, but we’ll have to wait and see.

In the meantime, I am getting through by repeating cliches and scriptures to myself:

“It has to get worse before it gets better.”

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

“One day at a time.”

“This too shall pass.”

“The sun will come out tomorrow.”

“She loves me, she loves me not!”

“No pain, no gain!”

“No guts, no glory.”

“Fear not, for I am with you.”

“Nothing worth doing is ever easy.”

“Tomorrow’s a new day.”

“God does not call the qualified.  He qualifies the called.”

“I will survive!”

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by a mom on May 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Can I ask if you could explain a bit about how attachment therapy looks for a chid who has been home for some time, and is also older? Is there a book you are consulting? It is something I am interested in, but I have no idea how I would get started.

    Reply

    • I will do a post on what we are doing for Sedaya’s attachment therapy. A lot of it I learnt when we were doing it with Elijah and in that case, we were working with a professional. I also get some from books. If you have a child who has undergone trauma, then the book “Parenting the Hurt Child…Helping Adoptive Families Heal and Grow” is a must.

      I might not get around to doing my post about the specifics about what we are doing with Sedaya for a week or two, but I will.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Richelle Fox on May 12, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Your such a great mommy!!!These are the memories that last forever…that little girl is worth it!!! You were born for being Sedaya’s mommy….before the creation of the world!!! She will one day thank you for all your hard work , your love that has changed her and forever made her not only worship our creator but live a successful, happy future with the husband the Lord has just for her!!! You will hold her first born son/daughter and with tears in your eyes give thanks to the God who holds all things in the palms of HIS hands….there is a PURPOSE for EVERYTHING!!!! Your love and sacrifice will not go unnoticed……You Sharla inspire me to be a better Mommy…because we were born for this…..

    Reply

    • Richelle – I didn’t realize how much I needed some encouragement until I read your words. They made me cry. Thank you so much!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Michelle Drost on May 12, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Just read somewhere recently how God is the ultimate example of an adoptive parent and how we can be such a defiant, slow learning, unloving kind of children to Him…and He unconditionally loves and forgives us…
    Of course easy for me to say!! Praying for FAST to happen and less of the furious. :)
    Thinking of you.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ramona on May 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Just wanted to let you know that I’m joining in praying for you guys. We’re going through some rough waters here and the days are so long- I needed the reminder that God qualifies the called. And your friend Richelle has spoken words of truth to you that I so needed too. I love when God does this. And I am going to trust in big things for tomorrow… remembering her words and who’s I am.
    Ramona

    Reply

  5. We did attachment therapy with our daughter soon after she came home — it was part of a research study we were enrolled in. I thought I was doing them a favor–turns out, I was so thankful we did it. It was really helpful for both of us.

    Praying that the Holy Spirit’s voice is loud and clear to you, encouraging you throughout your day that He is present and active and doing a miraculous work in your home for His glory!

    Reply

  6. Sounds like a great outing! We’ll have to keep it in mind. How is Gracelyn doing these days? Lifting you and your beautiful family up in prayer.

    Blessings!
    Deborah

    Reply

  7. Ack, Sharla, the previous comment was supposed to go above. Hang in there. I haven’t been through it (yet), but I won’t be surprised if I need to do it with one or all of the girls down the road. We’ll see. God knows best. Lifting you up in prayer in the quiet right now.

    Hugs!
    Deborah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

